Quantcast
Channel: Poetry | The Guardian
Browsing all 3836 articles
Browse latest View live

Poem of the week: Silence by Lotte Kramer

The quiet pastoral of a river scene carries strong undercurrents of traumatic historical memoryA footnote to this week's poem by Lotte Kramer (published in The Rialto, No. 80, Spring-Summer 2014) tells...

View Article



Felix Dennis obituary

One of three editors in the 1971 Oz obscenity trial who went on to become a hugely successful magazine and book publisherFelix Dennis cackling laugh, roistering humour, ribald in appetite, loyal and...

View Article

Felix Dennis: poet, pioneer, party planner and prolific planter

Oz publisher 'who lived life on his own terms' combined entrepreneurial gifts with unrepentant hippiedomA poem with the enigmatic title Sign to Be Erected at the Gate to Argyle Wood sums up in many...

View Article

Norman Willis obituary

Leader of the TUC during one of the most traumatic periods in trade union historyNo trade union leader since the second world war had to cope with such a catalogue of disasters, nor become so embroiled...

View Article

Mrs Parker and the Vicious Circle - does it get under Dorothy's skin?

This Dorothy Parker biopic captures the enigmatic nature of its subject well but fails to stitch chunks of her sublime writing together into a satisfying narrativeMrs Parker and the Vicious Circle...

View Article


Dylan Thomas's drinking ditty to be published for first time

Impromptu verse written in London pub is 'in the vein' of Under Milk Wood and likely to fetch five-figure sumAn impromptu drinking ditty, dashed off in pencil by Dylan Thomas while seated at a London...

View Article

Show of Hands: Centenary Words & Music of the Great War review

(Mighty Village)Music and poetry can be a powerful combination. The Show of Hands singer-songwriter Steve Knightley and the actor Jim Carter have known each other since the 80s, and are now joined by...

View Article

Landmarks of summer literature

John Dugdale rounds up a selection of summer reads to celebrate the arrival of the seasonSummer literature doesn't stop with Sonnet 18, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Le Grand Meaulnes, Ulysses, The Great...

View Article


Ernst Stadler: the German war poet's last post

Stadler, like other German poets, responded with enthusiasm to the outbreak of the first world war, but there was no poetry to be found in the trenchesOn 31 July 1914, Ernst Stadler had to change his...

View Article


Parents, pick poetry during Children's Book Week | @guardianletters

With next week being Children's Book Week, I would like to put in a word for poetry in the hope that parents will pick up a book of poems at bedtime. Evidence shows that many children first discover...

View Article

The Saturday poem: The Electrification of Beth Shalom

by Ruth PadelI am looking too hard, or this scene is looking too hardat me. Turn of the century and the last Chief Rabbi of Creteis standing by seven naked bulbs, the first electric lightin town. What...

View Article

Poem of the week: A Birthmother's Catechism by Carrie Etter

In a haunting refrain of imagined questions and answers, a mother speculates how her son, adopted as a baby, feels about the parent he has never knownImagined Sons by Carrie Etter consists of a title...

View Article

Dermot Healy, 'uncompromisingly brilliant' poet and novelist, dies aged 66

Tributes paid to Irish author acclaimed as a unique figure 'in the tradition of Samuel Beckett and Flann O'Brien'The Irish author Dermot Healy, whose poetry and novels drew him fans from Seamus Heaney...

View Article


Guardian first book award 2014: add your nomination

One of the titles on the longlist for this year's prize for literary debuts is up to readers. Please nominate the best new work you've read in the last 12 monthsThe cupboards are full to bursting, the...

View Article

Dermot Healy obituary

Author and poet who wrote A Goat's Song, one of the great Irish novels of recent timesThe Irish writer Dermot Healy, who has died aged 66, was once described by Seamus Heaney as "the heir to Patrick...

View Article


Poet Lavinia Greenlaw: Why I love the artist Eva Hesse

When Lavinia Greenlaw looks at the works of Eva Hesse, she is reminded of how a poem comes to herI had known about Eva Hesse's work for years, but the moment I really paid attention was when I visited...

View Article

Why should young people find out the first world war?

Ex-war reporter turned children's writer Rowena House has witnessed the horrors of conflict first hand, but nothing shocked her as much as reading Wilfred Owen's poetry when she was at school. In this...

View Article


Fifty greatest modern love poems list embraces 30 different countries

Global reach of experts' new selection ranges over last 50 years, from Scotland to Saudi Arabia, Korea to KurdistanThere's no "How do I love thee? Let me count the ways", or "Shall I compare thee to a...

View Article

Poems for George VI by John Masefield

Three unseen works written by the poet laureate for the newly-crowned monarchNews: John Masefield's unseen tributes to King George VI revealedSong of the Birds for the Queen's MajestyThe April sends...

View Article

Poet laureate John Masefield's unseen tributes to George VI revealed

Handwritten work given privately to the recently-crowned king made available for the first timeRead the poems hereThree unknown poems by John Masefield, which were written out by hand by the poet...

View Article
Browsing all 3836 articles
Browse latest View live




Latest Images